A room is a group of teachers, children and their families within your service. You can create as many rooms within your early learning service as you like. Rooms can be used, for example:
to separate or group children by age
for educators who look after a particular group of children
for early learning services with more than one classroom.
In this guide learn about:
1. Accessing a room
Accessing a room
Once you’ve set up a Room you can access it by clicking the menu button at the top of the page and from the menu selecting the name of your room.
1. Click your early learning service’s name in the menu.
2. Click the name of the room you want access
3. Select what page within the room you want to visit.
How is a room different from the main service?
Your room page will look similar to your main early learning service page. For a teacher, a Room is simply like a subset of your early learning service, and both work in a similar way.
A room has tabs for Stories, Community, Planning, Child notes, Children, Teachers, and Reports, whereas your main early learning service page also has a tab for Learning sets and an About page.
A room's Community space
Rooms have their own Community discussion space, which works in the same way as the early learning service's community space.
However, instead of all the teachers and parents in the entire early learning service being notified when community posts are added, only the educators and parents of children in the room are notified.
Stories for children in a room
Stories added by an early learning service for a child in a room will show up both on the room's Stories page and on the early learning service's Stories page.
How rooms work for families
If a child has been added to a room(s), their family admins have access to your service's Community area, as well as the rooms' Community area(s). Both can be accessed from the blue menu bar at the top of the website.
This way they can contribute to discussions with the whole early learning service:
or just the Room:
When a parent adds a story for a child whose been added to a room, the educators in that room will be sent a notification.
Who can see a room?
Rooms in Storypark are just a way of sorting through the full list of children you have at your centre. This means all educators at a service can see and access all rooms. To make a community post in a room however, they need to be added to the room.
If you've added children to a room, their Family Admins can see and access the room's community space.
What happens when you delete a room?
When a room is deleted, the only content that is lost is the community posts. Any plans in the room are automatically moved to your service's main planning page. Any children in the room will still be connected to your service and any other rooms they are in. Stories are published to children's profiles, so they are also not affected by the room being deleted.
How can I create an 'educator-only' room?
Families can only see rooms that their child's profile is in. To set up an 'educator-only' room, create a new room and then only add educators. You can use the community space of the room to communicate with your team and share ideas.
Why are children's names greyed out when I try to add/remove them from a room?
If you are finding you cannot move a child to or from a room, check if your service is using a CCMS integration with Storypark.
If your service's Storypark is integrated with a CCMS provider, child profiles must be edited, moved and archived there (rather than in Storypark).
I've added children to a room - why can I see all their stories there?
Educators and parents see rooms in different ways. When an educator adds a child to a room, they will see all their stories (i.e. not just ones created in the room).
Whereas parents can only see stories published to their child's profile and the room's community space.
📝 Other articles you may be interested in:
Educators: Set up a room
Educators: Access, edit or delete a room
Educators: Add an educator or child to a room or multiple rooms