This article includes information on the new premium Educator Portfolios platform.

Learn more and get started.

This article is relevant for independent services only. Independent services are single-site services with one location. Learn more about contributors for network services (services with more than one location).

In this guide:

  1. What is a contributor?

  2. Contributor types

  3. How to contribute

  4. Access to portfolios

  5. How to invite or remove a contributor

What is a contributor and why are they important?

  • A contributor is someone who has been invited to your portfolio, either by you or by your organisation's management. You can have as many contributors as you like.

  • The role of a contributor is to provide guidance, ideas and feedback on your growth and development as an educator. Contributors can collaborate with you on your portfolio plans, respond to your portfolio stories, assign you todos and give you recognition.

  • Contributors are an opportunity to lean on and learn from other educators in your service and wider network to further grow your capabilities and build on the work you already do in Storypark.

  • Contributors are also helpful for services that struggle to find time to all meet together and offer feedback, and for those who may find collaboration intimidating or challenging to do in-person.

Contributor types

Depending on whether your service is independent or part of a network, the types of contributors you can have will vary.

For independent services (organisations with only one location), contributor types are:

  • Admins

    Service admins can access the portfolio of every educator in their service. Admins will have automatic access to some areas in your portfolio, and invite-only access to other areas. Find more information on Managers.

  • Contributors

    Peers or mentors who you wish to have limited invite-only access to your Portfolio. As a portfolio owner, you have the ability to add and delete contributors to your portfolio.

How to contribute

A contributor can contribute by:

Responding to portfolio stories

Portfolio stories allow you to reflect and document evidence of your work over time.

When you first publish a portfolio story it is private to you as the author but you can make it visible to any or all of your contributors by clicking the dropdown arrow in the top right of the story preview card and selecting which of your contributors you'd like to give access to.

Contributors can then respond to the portfolio story, just as they would with child stories. The responses area can be used to make suggestions, give feedback or provide encouragement.

Edit or comment on a plan

Portfolio plans are flexible spaces where you can set, plan and work towards developmental goals, inquiry, appraisals or accreditation/registration as well as anything else related to your professional learning and development. Contributors can support this work by collaborating on any plans that are shared with them. This could include editing or commenting-only, depending on the plan's permissions.

Note: Admins can also edit certain plans (depending on the template permission settings) but this is intended to support educators in setting up their plans. After that, we would suggest that most interactions happen through comments.

Start or reply to a conversation

Conversations are private to the selected recipients.

That could be a two-person mentor-mentee conversation about planning your next one-on-one meeting, or it could be an all-contributor or all-team conversation about planning a team project, inquiry or review. You can start conversations with your contributors, as well as contributing to existing threads.

View a portfolio report

Educator reports can be used to analyse trends in how tags have been applied to portfolio stories, over time.

These might be tags applied to portfolio stories and related to your professional development (eg. teaching standards), or tags applied to child stories that you've saved to your Portfolio (eg. curriculum). Your contributors will be able to observe differences/similarities over time which will help them to focus their support.

Viewing and reviewing your focus areas

Cycles are set up by your service admins and include a set of focus areas with a start and end date. They are generally used for professional growth, appraisal, induction or leadership. A cycle can also include a self-review and/or manager review at the end of the cycle period, but does not have to.

Your admins (but not your standard contributors) can see the links you've made to your focus areas. If the cycle includes a self-review or manager review, they can contribute to this and then view it afterwards.

What permissions do each contributor type have?

Admins can:

  • Invite, change permissions of, and remove contributors

  • Assign you focus areas and see the links you've made to them

  • Review your focus areas at the end of a cycle

  • Start plans for you from a portfolio template. If the template allows it, they may also edit and comment on the plans

  • Start and contribute to new conversations (they cannot access conversations they are not added to)

  • View and respond to any portfolio story that you've changed from private to visible

  • View your portfolio reports

  • Message you via your manager check-in

  • Give you recognition, and read what others have written

  • View and assign todos

Contributors can:

  • See who your other contributors are

  • Comment on plans that are shared with them

  • Start and contribute to new conversations (they cannot access conversations they are not added to)

  • View and respond to any portfolio story that you've changed from private to visible

  • View your portfolio reports

  • Give you recognition, and read what others have written

  • View and assign todos

How to invite or remove a contributor

1. Go to your Contributors page and tap the 'Add contributors' tile.

2. Place your cursor in the search field and either begin typing or select from the educators listed (you can only select a single contributor at a time).

3. Tap the 'Add contributor' button and they will now appear on your Contributors page.

What do contributors see when I invite them?

Contributors get their own team dashboard that provides them with quick access to your portfolio and an overview of its activity. See an introduction to the team dashboard.

Remove a contributor

As a portfolio owner, you can remove any Contributor, but you cannot remove an Admin.

On any contributor's tile, tap the small triangle in the top right corner and then tap 'Remove'.

That contributor will now no longer have access to your Portfolio.

Contributor access when you leave

When you leave your current service, all contributors from the service will be removed. Learn more about what happens when you leave a service.

Did this answer your question?