This is the new app for iOS. For information about the old app, see Storypark Classic
(This has a white app icon with blue ducks. Storypark for Educators has a blue app icon)
The Storypark for Educators app is a companion to the website, and makes it easier and faster to do the things you do most frequently. It helps educators to:
- Create and share posts with your Community groups, using images, videos and attachments
- Have conversations directly with family members or with your team
- Document children’s learning using images, video and text
- Save and access your draft stories, so you can continue your work from anywhere
- View plans, family moments and child notes
- Keep your work safe with offline support
- Instantly share updates with a child's family
- Receive and respond to comments and feedback
- Quickly see the latest activity, so you can stay on top of new content, responses and communication.
Please note, some features are not available at the moment. For example management tasks like adding new children and inviting users - and planning, notes, and family moments are view-only. You can still access these features on your mobile device by logging into Storypark website in your device’s mobile browser (e.g. Chrome, Safari, Firefox)
Children: See children and view stories
The Children section shows all the children in your current centre and their stories, moments, plans and notes.
Selecting ‘All children’ will show you all the children’s stories in the group. Tapping on a specific child will show you all the stories for that child.
If your centre has different rooms, you can switch between viewing the whole centre and any rooms by tapping on the centre or room name. This filters the children shown in the list.
Viewing, responding to and editing stories
Tap on a story card to view the full story.
Once a story is published, you can edit or delete it by tapping on the … icon in the top right.
To respond or comment on a story, tap “Leave a response…” at the bottom of the screen. You can add images or videos from your photo library to your response by tapping on the camera icon. To take a photo, first open an album then select the camera.
In the responses section at the end of a story, you’ll see a count of views and loves and comments on a story. Tapping on the eye and heart icons will show you a list of who has viewed or loved it.
View plans, moments and child notes
You can also view plans, moments and notes at your current centre or on a specific child's profile.
Community: Your Communities and Conversations
The Community tab shows your Communities (for your centre and rooms) and existing Conversations as a list of channels. Any channels with new posts will move to the top, and be shown in bold text. Community channels are marked with a small yellow icon.
Tap on a channel to see past community posts, ordered by recent activity. Tap on a summary to see the full post, along with any images, attachments and reponses.
Create a new Community post
To create a new post in a Community, first tap on the Community in the list then press the plus icon in the top right corner.
In the image, Yellow Room is selected and the plus in the top right corner starts a new community post.
To make your post an Urgent Announcement, open ‘Notification settings’ on the new post and select Post as Urgent Announcement. Note that this feature may override someone’s notification settings, and is intended for critical information only. For example, unexpected centre closures.
Start a new conversation with new people
You can start a new conversation with other educators and/or family members by tapping the people icon. New conversations will then appear in your list of channels.
Create: Creating new stories
Add new learning stories and observations from the Create button.
Adding text, images, videos and learning tags to your story
The toolbar lets you switch between what type of content you want to add.
To add images or video, select from the recent images shown, open the camera from the top of the images panel, or access all of your images from the Album icon (shown when the image tool is selected). Choose as many images as you like, and they’ll be added in the order selected. By default the images will be laid out side by side. If selecting an odd number, the first image will be larger.
Toolbar, left to right:
- Text tool
- Images (select from recent images/videos, or take new photos/videos)
- Learning tags
- Background colour selector
- View all Photo albums (shown when image tool is selected)
Reorder your story content
Tap and hold on an image or text block to reposition it. A blue line will indicate where it will be placed. Position images side by side by dragging one image to the left or right of another one, or drag one above the other to make it bigger.
Saving, publishing or sending for approval
Your drafts will always be saved by default when you Close your story.
Depending on whether your stories can be published, need to be approved, or you’re approving someone else’s story, the top right action will Publish, Submit or Approve and publish the story.
If you lose your internet connection while working on a story, your draft will be saved on the device so work won’t be lost. Once you’re back online and in the app, it’ll save and sync, and you’ll then see it on any other devices. Note that if you edit an older version of the story on the web, before the version from the app has synced, it may be overwritten when your phone or ipad reconnects.
Activity: Stay up to date with the latest activity
The Activity section includes updates about Stories, Community posts, Conversations, responses and invitations that relate to you. Tap on an update to view the full details.
Currently, this does not include updates about Planning, Child notes, Family moments or your Teacher portfolio, so all of this needs to be accessed through the website. You may need to pull down to refresh and see new updates.
Me: Drafts, pending, your profile, switch services and get help
Draft and Pending stories
This is where you’ll find your draft and pending stories that you’ve created either on the web or in the app. To delete drafts, either tap the … icon on the story card to delete an individual story, or Edit in the top right to select multiple draft stories to delete.
If you belong to multiple services or centres with the same email address, you can switch between them. Note that this will filter what you see in the child tab, but currently not what you see in Community or Activity.
Access the help centre from within the app, or tap ‘Ask us a question’ to get in touch with our team.