In this guide learn about:
What happens with child profiles at multiple services?
Service-level settings
Child-level settings


What happens with child profiles at multiple services?

If a child is attending or has attended more than one service that uses Storypark, they may have one profile across those services. If they do, Admin educators can choose whether to share individual stories they've published to the profile with the other services.

This applies to profiles that are currently at multiple services, as well as profiles that move from one service to another as the child transitions.

What is the value of sharing?
Sharing information with the child's wider learning community helps everyone to better support the child's development.
It’s important that this community can communicate and understand each other’s experiences and insights with the child. This helps the community best support the child’s developing interests and strengths.

Note: In some instances, parents/guardians prefer to have a seperate profile for each service, these settings do not apply to this case.


Service-level settings


From the service settings page you can enable/disable the sharing of individual stories with other services at a higher level.

Access the service settings via the edit button next to your service's name:

The setting is the last option in the permission settings:

This higher level setting helps Admin educators to manage sharing for all the profiles at their service (current and future) with more visibility.

When the service setting is off

When the setting 'allow sharing with other services' is unticked (i.e. off), sharing between multiple services is off for every child profile at the service, current and future. This means there are no child names visible underneath the setting:

It also means that the option to share with multiple services will not be available when creating a new child profile or editing an existing one.


When the service setting is on

When the setting 'allow sharing with other services' is ticked, sharing between multiple services is an option for each individual child profile at your service, current and future. Admin educators still need to choose whether each child's profile is shared or not.

This means you can have some profiles where the setting is on and others where it is off:

Additionally, when the service-level setting 'allow sharing with other services' is ticked, educators can also allow sharing when they create a new child profile and when editing an existing child's profile.

Note: We recommend services confirm with families that they are comfortable with individual stories being shared, before this is turned on. When the setting is ticked to allow sharing with other services against a child's name their family admins will be notified via email.



Child-level settings

When the service-level setting 'allow sharing with other services' is ticked, educators can also set this when they create a new child profile:

And when editing an existing child profile as well:

However if the service-level setting 'allow sharing with other services' is unticked, the setting is not present when adding a new child or editing an existing child profile:

Note: We recommend services confirm with families that they are comfortable with individual stories being shared, before this is turned on. When the setting is ticked to allow sharing with other services, When the setting is ticked to allow sharing with other services against a child's name their family admins will be notified via email.


📝 Other articles you may be interested in:
What information can different people see?

Did this answer your question?