Network admins: Head office learning sets

Set up, activate and deactivate head office learning sets across all network services.

Support avatar
Written by Support
Updated over a week ago

In this guide learn about:



What are Head Office learning sets?

Learning sets are simply folders of learning tags. These are labels or keywords that can be attached to stories and plans. Attaching tags to stories allows educators to link to elements of their curriculum or standards (but could also relate to outcomes, goals, dispositions, schemas, values, culture, interests or subjects).

Head office learning sets allow network admins to set up and centrally manage learning sets from Multi-site Management for current and new/future services. This helps network admins ensure services across their network are using a consistent set of learning tags.



Setting up a new head office learning set

From Multi-site Management, network admins can either copy an existing Storypark learning set or create a learning set from scratch.

From Multi-site Management, select Network Settings and then Learning sets:

Copy a Storypark learning set

The learning set library contains learning sets created by Storypark in consultation with regional education specialists and with permission from the original authors. Select a learning set by selecting the title or tap the search icon.

To add a learning set to a network, select Copy to our sets at the top right-hand corner:

It will be copied into the Our learning sets box as an inactive set. As an inactive set it cannot be viewed or used by educators yet and gives network admins time to make adjustments and/or discuss changes with their team before making the set available for use.

Create a new learning set

To create a learning set from scratch, press the + New button in the Our learning sets box:

Add the learning set title and then press Create learning set:

From there the folders and learning tags can be added within the set. Some organisations like to add external links or references as well.

The new set will then be added to the Our learning sets box as an inactive set. This means it cannot be viewed or used by educators yet and gives network admins time to make adjustments and/or discuss changes with their team before making the set available for use.


Activating and deactivating a head office learning set

Head office learning sets can be activated and deactivated to manage whether they are accessible to services.

Activating a head office learning set

Activating a head office learning set allows it to be used by educators at all of a network's services (current services and any added to the network in the future).
This can be done by sliding the toggle across on any set in the Our learning sets box:

Once activated, the learning set will automatically be available for use in stories and plans straight away, however no notification is sent. This means network admins may want to use network messaging to advise educators.

Deactivating a head office learning set

If you need to temporarily or permanently remove a learning set from use, you can make it inactive. This can be done by tapping the toggle on any set in the Our learning sets box:

Any learning tags from that set that have been previously applied to stories and plans will remain - educators will just not be able to apply the learning set to any new stories or plans while it remains inactive. (I.e. Deactivating a set is not deleting it, although that can still be done if needed.)


Deleting a head office learning set

As well as activating and deactivating a head office learning set, they can also be deleted.

Whilst a deactivated set is still visible in Network Setup and can be activated at any time for use in the future, deleting a head office learning set permanently removes it.

Important: Before deleting you may wish to consider the following:
1. Whether the set is currently active or inactive (check the switch at the top of the set)
2. Whether tags from that learning set have been used in any published or draft stories or plans. When a learning set is deleted, the associated tags are automatically removed from any draft stories and plans. Tags used in published stories and plans remain, unless an educator later edits the story or plan for any reason.
If you are unsure, simply deactivate the learning set instead of deleting it.

If you'd like to completely remove a learning set from your Network Setup and services, you can still do that by tapping edit at the top right-hand corner:

And then delete in the pop-up window:

If the learning set is active (i.e. currently available at all services on your network for use), you will also be warned first of what it means to delete an active head office learning set:


How do services see head office learning sets?

Once a head office learning set is activated, it can be used by educators in both stories and plans.

From an individual service's learning set page, network managed learning sets are identifiable by a global icon:

Network managed sets are view only from this page and can only be edited, activated or deactivated from Multi-site Management by a network admin.

Head office learning sets are also identifiable in each service's reports on learning sets:


📝 Other articles you may be interested in:

Did this answer your question?