This article includes information on the new premium Educator Portfolios platform.

Learn more and get started.

Note: This article uses the terms 'independent services' (single-site services with one location) and 'networks' (multisite organisations with multiple locations).

In this guide:

  1. What is a portfolio plan?

  2. Types of portfolio plans

  3. Permissions in portfolio plans

  4. How to create and customise a portfolio plan

  5. How might I use a portfolio plan?

What is a portfolio plan?

Portfolio plans are flexible spaces where you can:

  • Set, plan and work towards your goals and inquiry

  • Work with mentors and managers towards your appraisal or accreditation/registration

  • Keep records of your professional development/continuous professional learning

  • Save evidence and reflections against your goals and teaching standards

  • As well as anything else related to your professional learning and development

Types of portfolio plans

There are two types of portfolio plans:

  • Blank portfolio plans

  • Portfolio plans made from a template

    • A planning template is a plan type that has been pre-populated by your network or centre. These portfolio planning templates are designed to save you time so don't have to start from a blank slate every time you want to create a plan. Templates can also be used to create consistency across your service to ensure everyone is following the same format.

Permissions in portfolio plans

When you create a blank portfolio plan, you have control over who can access it. When starting a portfolio plan from a template, the network or independent service admin controls the permissions and share settings of the template.

Blank portfolio plans

A blank portfolio plan is private to you by default but you have the option to share it with any of your contributors using the 'Share' button and selecting them either as an editor or commenter. You might keep a plan private if you're using it for, eg. a reflective journal, or if you're just not ready to share it with others yet.

Once you're ready to share a plan, click the 'Share' button at the top right to see your sharing options:

Click 'Invite contributors' button, and in the window that opens, select from a list of your contributors:

Once selected, you can choose whether to give them Commenter access or Editor access. Learn more about portfolio contributors.

When you're finished, click 'Share plan' and anyone you selected will be notified so that they can start contributing to it.


Portfolio planning templates for a network

Permission settings for portfolio plans created from a template are decided by network admins and may vary between templates (depending on their intended use).

Full access

Anyone with full access (this could be network admins, managers and/or plan owners) automatically has full management of the plan, including the ability to delete it.

Limited access

Limited access means that you have automatic access to the plan but that some features will not be available to you. This could include the ability to edit cells, add and delete rows and columns, or archive and delete plans. In a plan's share settings, you can hover over the words 'limited access' to read what the access includes.

Invite-only access

This means that in order to access a plan a person must be invited by the plan owner. If the template permissions allows it, the plan owner can select whether someone has edit or comment access.

As an educator, you also have the option to add your own contributors to either comment on or edit your portfolio plan. Click 'Invite contributors' button, and in the window that opens, select from a list of your contributors:

Portfolio planning templates for an independent service

Permission settings for portfolio plans created from a centre template are decided by centre admins and have two options:

  • Admins have full access (the portfolio plan can be viewed by your admin)

  • Admins have invite-only access (the portfolio plan is private to you unless you chose to share it)

As an educator, you also have the option to add your own contributors to either comment on or edit your portfolio plan.


How to create a portfolio plan

  1. From your portfolio home, click planning (between contributors and reports)

  2. Click create a portfolio plan

  3. Chose a plan from your network's/centre's templates or simply create your own from scratch

Portfolio plan templates

Depending on the settings your network/independent centre have selected on the template, you may be able to edit the number of cells and the colours within your plan.

Plan from scratch

When creating your own blank portfolio plan, as the creator you have full control over each cell.

Don't forget to give your plan a title so you can easily find it later on your Planning page.

Linking items to my plan

If you're creating inquiries, evaluations, observations or meetings minutes as portfolio plans you might link to other portfolio plans to connect these into your overall appraisal or accreditation plan.

To link items, simply open a cell using the 'content' button and select an option under the text box. If the cell already has content in it, click on the cell to reveal the same text box.

Note: You can only link to stories and plans in your own portfolio, you cannot link to your network/service's stories or plans.

Add text, images, videos and documents to a plan

In a plan, hover over (or tap on a touch screen) any blank/grey cell to see your editing options.

Selecting 'Header' opens up a box where you can type a heading. These are generally used to the left or at the top of your plans for row or column headings.

Selecting 'Content' opens up an editor:

To add and format text, start typing in the text field. If you want to add any formatting, select the text and tap the bold, italic, • bullets, or numbered bullets icons above the text field.

To add images, videos and documents, select the camera icon to add images, the video camera to add video and the paperclip icon to add documents such as PDFs, Word docs, slides etc. As these items load you'll see a progress bar. While these load you can carry on editing that cell and when they've loaded you can tap 'Save'. Once you leave the cell editor you'll see these media items loaded in the cell as thumbnails. Tapping on an image or a video opens it in a viewer that you can flick through and play any videos. Tapping on a document will download it to your device.

Adding, moving and deleting cells, rows and columns

To learn how to control individual cells or entire rows and columns at a time, see the article: Cells, rows and columns – Adding, moving, copying, deleting.

Changing a cell's colour

To change the colour of a cell, tap the dropdown icon in the top right of the cell, select 'Colour', choose your colour, then click 'Save'.

Working with templates

If you start a portfolio plan from a template, you might notice that some areas (eg. headings or instructional text) are uneditable. Network/centre administrators can lock features within plans so that they can be sure that people are using consistent templates across the organisation.



How might I use a portfolio plan?

Your portfolio plans are your space to document your learnings, appraisals and goals. Rather than having multiple documents, pieces of paper and having content split between devices or folders, portfolio plans are a space to bring everything together on one page with the ease to edit, update and record progress clearly.

Because this is your space, we have created a tool customisable to your needs. This includes the option to link to other stories and plans, add photos and videos and attach documents such as PDFs.

Your network or centre may chose to use planning templates to streamline your appraisals and ensure your entire team are setting goals and working towards their development.

Did this answer your question?