This article includes information on the new premium Educator Portfolios platform.
In this guide, learn about:
There are two kinds of portfolio plans:
The share settings in each type work differently.
Plans created from a blank template by a portfolio owner
When you begin a new plan (that isn't created from a network template), it is private to you by default. You might keep a plan private if you're using it for, eg. a reflective journal, or if you're just not ready to share it with others yet.
Once you're ready to share a plan, click the Share button at the top right to see your sharing options.
Click 'Invite contributors' button, and in the window that opens, select from a list of your contributors.
Once selected you can choose whether to give them Commenter access or Editor access. Learn more about portfolio contributors.
When you're finished, click 'Share plan' and anyone you selected will receive an email with a link to the plan so they can start contributing to it.
Plans created from a network/centre template
Your network administrators may have created some network templates that they want all their teachers to use in their portfolios. These types of plans can be started by portfolio owners, Managers, Direct Managers and network administrators. These plans have special share settings, defined in the template itself.
Note: If a portfolio owner is part of more than one network, only the network who created the template will have access to these plans.
Who can see your plans
What can I see and do as a portfolio owner?
Start, edit, and delete any non-network plans (ie. plans that aren't started from a network template)
Start and edit any plan created from a network template
Be notified when someone adds a comment to a portfolio story or plan.
What can contributors see and do?
Contribute to plans that are shared with them (comment or edit access)
What can network administrators, direct managers and managers see and do?
Start, edit, and delete plans created from your network templates (but you can turn this off in each template if you wish)
In addition, direct managers will receive notifications when portfolios are updated
How to change share settings of your plans
When you begin a new plan, it is private to you. Plans are private to you until you share them.
You might keep a plan private if you're using it for a reflective journal, or if you're just not ready to share it with others yet.
Once you're ready to share a plan, click the Share button at the top right. This will show a list of all people with access.
Initially, it will only show you, as the plan owner. Click the 'Select who to share with' button and a window will open with the following options:
Share with all educators
Share with individual educators
Share with parents (or family admins) of children in the plan
Clicking Cancel will keep the plan private to you