Advice and answers from the Storypark Team

We'll shortly be launching 'Planning', a better way to plan with your team. We are inviting services to access this new feature before we officially launch it. This article is for services that opt in.

____________


When you begin a new plan, it is private to you. You might keep a plan private if you're using it for eg. a reflective journal, or if you're just not ready to share it with others yet:


Once you're ready to share a plan, click the Share button at the top right to see your sharing options.



Service-wide planning

If you're sharing a plan from your service's main planning area, it will look like this:

If you start a plan in your service's main planning area, sharing a plan with all teachers notifies all teachers at your service by email (though they can turn this off in their notification settings if they wish). All teachers will also receive notifications each time a comment is made in the plan.


Room planning

If you're sharing a plan from a room planning area, it will look like this:

If you start a plan from a room, sharing a plan with teachers notifies all teachers in that room by email (though they can turn this off in their notification settings if they wish). Teachers in that room will also receive notifications each time a comment is made in the plan. The plan can still be accessed and edited by any teacher at your service if they visit your room, they just won't receive notifications about it.



What happens when you share a plan

When you click 'Done' in your share settings, anyone you selected will receive an email with a link to the plan so they can start contributing or commenting.


Share a plan with teachers

It's likely that you'll share most plans with all teachers in your service or room. Once a plan is shared, all teachers will then have the same level of access as the person who began it. They'll find any plans that have been shared under the service's or room's Planning tab. They'll be able to view, edit and comment on each plan. The author and any admins at your service will be able to change the share settings.


Share a plan with parents

As well as sharing with teachers, you may choose to share with the parents of any children you've added within the plan. (This means any family member who has been given admin rights – usually only the child's parents.) Parents can't edit plans, they can only view and make comments.

If a plan has been shared with a parent, they will see it in a new Planning tab on their child's early learning service's profile page.

Service-wide planning
If you wish to share a plan with all parents of children in your service, start your plan from your main service planning area (rather than a room) and add all those children to a cell. This would be useful for programmes and daily diaries etc.

Room planning
For room-specific planning, eg. room programmes, projects or events, start a plan from a room, select all children in that room to add to a cell and then share with those children's parents.

Group planning
When planning for groups of children, you could add a few children in a cell, or one child per cell and then share with those children's parents.

Individual planning
When you are planning for an individual child, eg. summative assessments or a transition report, you can start your plan from either the main planning area or the room that child is in (depending on where you want that plan to live), add only that child to a cell and share with that child's parents.


Who can see linked stories, plans and notes in a plan?

In any planning cell, it's possible to link to stories, notes and other plans. Learn more here.

Each story, note and plan is accessible to all teachers but only accessible to the parents of the children that are included in them.

So for example, if you link to a child note, or story about an individual or a small group of children, and then share the plan with all parents at your service, only the parents of the children included in the story or note will be able to access those links. All other parents will simply see a greyed-out link that they cannot open.



Privacy in plans

Please think carefully about the content you include in a plan if you're sharing it with parents of more than one child. Think about what each child's parents would be happy for the other parents to read and see.

Did this answer your question?