This article is for those who are trialling or have subscribed to Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform. If you are interested in testing Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform, add your details here. Learn more here: Old VS new teacher portfolios – what’s the difference?
 

 

What is a contributor?

A contributor is someone who has been invited to your portfolio, either by you or by your organisation's management. You can have as many contributors as you wish. The four types of contributors are:

Network administrators

Head Office Administrators who manage your portfolio subscription. 

Direct Managers

A manager you report directly to (for a teacher this might be your Head Teacher, for a Head Teacher this might be your Centre Manager).

Managers

Any other managers within an organisation (eg. your manager's managers) who need access to your portfolio, generally for the purposes of educational or HR support.

Contributors

Peers or mentors who you wish to have limited access to your portfolio.
 
 

Network portfolio subscriptions

Storypark's new teacher portfolio platform is currently only available to multi-site organisations but will be opened up to individual service and teacher subscriptions soon. This means that currently, you can only have a teacher portfolio if your organisation has a subscription.

While you work for an organisation who subscribes to your portfolio?

While your portfolio belongs to you, organisations that you work for can manage a subscription to your portfolio, giving them certain permissions over parts of it. These permissions include:

  • The ability to invite, change permissions of, and remove contributors from their own network/organisation.
  • Having automatic access to certain plans created from their network templates.

When you leave an organisation who subscribes to your portfolio?

They will lose access to it, but you will continue to have access.
 
 

What permissions does everyone have?

You, as a portfolio owner can:

  • Invite and remove people with standard Contributor access (but not change their contributor-type)
  • View Manager contributors (but not invite, change contributor-type, or remove them)
  • Start, edit, and delete any non-network plans (ie. plans that aren't started from a network template)
  • Start and edit any plan created from a network template
  • Start and contribute to all conversations
  • Create, view and respond to any portfolio story
  • View portfolio reports
  • Be notified when someone adds a comment to a portfolio story or plan

Network administrators, Direct Managers and Managers can:

  • Invite, change permissions of, and remove contributors from their own network/organisation
  • Start plans from network templates. If the template allows it, they may also collaborate on the plans
  • Start and contribute to new conversations (they cannot access conversations they are not added to)
  • View and respond to any portfolio story that is shared with them in a plan
  • View portfolio reports
  • In addition, Direct Managers will receive notifications of certain updates in your portfolio.

Contributors can:

  • See who the other contributors are
  • Comment on plans that are shared with them
  • Start and contribute to new conversations (they cannot access conversations they are not added to)
  • View and respond to any portfolio story that is shared with them in a plan
  • View portfolio reports

 

How to invite a contributor

1. Go to your Contributors page and tap the 'Add contributor' tile.

2. Place your cursor in the search field and either begin typing or select from the teachers in the list (you can only select a single contributor at a time).

3. Select contributor type/level of access they have (this feature is only available to Managers, not to portfolio owners)

4. Tap the 'Add contributor' button and they will now appear on your Contributors page. You can add as many contributors as you wish.

 
 

What do contributors see when I invite them?

Contributors get their own dashboard with quick access to your portfolio and any plans that have been shared with them. See An introduction for contributors.
 
 

Want to invite a mentor but can't see them in the list?

Currently, you can invite any teacher who has a Storypark account and works at the same service/s as you. If you wish to invite a mentor from another service within your organisation, you could ask your head office administrators to set up a 'Community Hub' service and invite all teachers to it. This means that you could then invite any teacher from your entire organisation as a contributor.

 

Remove a contributor

As a portfolio owner, you can remove any Contributor, but you cannot remove a Manager or Direct Manager.

On any contributor's tile, tap the small triangle in the top right corner and then tap 'Remove'.

That contributor will now no longer have access to your portfolio.

Did this answer your question?