This article is for those who are trialling or have subscribed to Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform. If you are interested in testing Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform, add your details here. Learn more here: Old VS new teacher portfolios – what’s the difference?
What is a teacher portfolio?
Your Storypark portfolio is your own space that travels with you throughout your career, from studying to a placement to teaching to mentoring. Your portfolio connects to any service/organisation while you're there, but at its heart it is your own space that you can keep private or share, and will grow as you grow.
Storypark's teacher portfolios are designed to help:
- Plan and support your ongoing professional development
- Streamline processes such as appraisals and accreditation
- Set, work towards and save evidence against goals
- Connect with managers, mentors and peers
- Create alignment across your organisation
- Keep everything in one place
Where can I find my portfolio?
You can access your own teacher portfolio by tapping the 'My portfolio' link under your name in the menu.
Where can I find another teacher's portfolio?
If you are a Manager or have been invited to contribute to someone else's portfolio, please read our guides:
Key features explained
A teacher portfolio has six areas: Conversations, Child stories, Portfolio stories, Contributors, Planning, Reports. (Note: Child stories and portfolio stories are now combined under one 'Stories' tab.)
Displays all conversations you've started or been added to, in a stream. Teacher conversations are associated with individuals, not their early learning service which means your conversations will remain accessible even after you've left your current service. Learn more about conversations.
Displays all stories you've created about children at any early learning service you are part of. You can change the story order and filter the stories that are shown by tapping ‘Filter stories'. This is the one area in your portfolio that will disappear when you leave a service. If you wish to keep any stories you've created you must first save them to your portfolio.
Displays any story you've created in your portfolio or have chosen to save to your portfolio. Portfolio stories are private to you by default but can be made visible to your contributors by clicking the arrow in the top right of the story preview card and selecting which of your contributors you'd like to give access to. These stories will remain accessible to you even after you've left your current early learning service. Learn more about portfolio stories.
Displays people who can access and contribute to your portfolio. There are three contributor types: Manager, Direct Manager, Contributor, each with a different level of access. Learn more about contributors.
Displays all private and shared plans that have been created in your portfolio. If you have any contributors with Manager access, they are able to create plans on your behalf. Depending on the planning template settings, they may also be able to collaborate with you on the plan. Learn more about portfolio plans.
Analyse trends in your teaching and professional learning by looking at how you've been applying tags to stories, over time. Learn more about portfolio reports.
Who can access my portfolio?
While your portfolio belongs to you, organisations that you work for can manage a subscription to your portfolio, giving them certain permissions over parts of it. These permissions include:
- The ability to invite, change permissions of, and remove contributors from their own network/organisation.
- Having automatic access to certain plans created from their network templates.
For more information on network subscriptions and access, see Contributors and permissions in teacher portfolios.
What happens to my portfolio when I leave my current service?
Teacher portfolios are associated with individuals, not their early learning service which means your portfolio will remain accessible to you even after you've left your current service.