This article is for those who are trialling or have subscribed to Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform. If you are interested in testing Storypark's new Teacher Portfolio platform, add your details here. Learn more here: Old VS new teacher portfolios – what’s the difference?
 

 
If you have Manager (or Direct Manager) access to your team's portfolios, this guide explains a few of the key features and how you can support their professional development.

Note: If you have been invited as a 'Contributor' rather than a 'Manager' or 'Direct Manager', please see read this guide instead.
 
 

What is a teacher portfolio?

A Storypark portfolio is a teacher's own space that travels with them throughout their career, from studying to a placement to teaching to mentoring. Their portfolio connects to any service/organisation while they work there, but at its heart it is their own space that they can keep private or share, and will grow as they grow.

Storypark's teacher portfolios are designed to help:

  • Plan and support teachers' ongoing professional development
  • Streamline processes such as appraisals and accreditation
  • Set, work towards and save evidence against goals
  • Teachers work closer with their managers, mentors and peers
  • Create alignment across your organisation
  • Keep everything in one place.

 

Where can I find my team's portfolios?

Tap your name in the left-hand navigation drawer, and then tap your 'Dashboard' under Teacher portfolios

This will display a list of all teachers of whom you are a manager/contributor. From here you can navigate to their portfolio or directly to their individual plans.

You can also access their portfolio by visiting your early learning service’s ‘Teachers’ page, and tapping on their name.
 
 

A teacher's portfolio – key features explained

A teacher portfolio is made up of Conversations, Stories, Contributors, Planning, and Reports.

Conversations

Displays all conversations with this particular teacher that you've started or been added to, in a stream. Learn more about conversations.

Stories

Child stories

Displays all stories that teacher has created about children at any early learning service you are both a part of. You can change the story order and filter the stories that are shown by tapping ‘Filter stories'.

Portfolio stories

Displays any portfolio story created by the portfolio owner and made visible to you. Portfolio stories are private by default to the owner but can be made visible to their contributors if they click the arrow in the top right of the story preview card and select which of their contributors they'd like to give access to. Learn more about portfolio stories.

Contributors

Displays all other people who can access and contribute to this portfolio. There are three contributor types: Manager, Direct Manager and Contributor, each with a different level of access. View your own card on this page to see your contributor-type. Learn more about contributors.

Planning

Displays plans started from network templates and plans that have been created from scratch and shared with you by the teacher. Learn more about portfolio plans.

Reports

Analyse trends in the teacher's teaching and professional learning by looking at how they've been applying tags to stories over time. Learn more about reports.
 
 

Who can access a portfolio?

While each portfolio belongs to the individual portfolio owner, if they work for an organisation that manages a subscription to their portfolio, their network administrators and managers have certain permissions over parts of it beyond what a standard invited contributor has.

As a manager your permissions include:

  • The ability to invite, change permissions of, and remove contributors from your own network/organisation.
  • Having automatic access to certain plans created from your network's templates.

For more information on network subscriptions/access, see Contributors and permissions in teacher portfolio.

 

What happens when the teacher leaves your organisation?

You will lose access to their portfolio when they leave (but not if they only switch services within your organisation). 

Your network administrators will still have access to an archived and locked version of any network plans that were created while the educator worked with you.

Teacher portfolios are associated with individuals, not their early learning service which means most feature within their portfolio will remain accessible to them even after they've left your organisation, other than the ability to create new plans.

Did this answer your question?