We'll shortly be launching 'Planning', a better way to plan with your team. We are inviting services to access this new feature before we officially launch it. This article is for services that opt in.
Each room has it's own planning area. You can create a plan from your service's main planning area, or from in one of your rooms. The plan will live in the group where it is created (so you will not see a plan in your service's main planning area if it was created within one of your rooms). Learn how to move plans between rooms here.
Who can access plans created in rooms?
By default, any plan (whether it's created in the service's main planning area or a room planning area) is private to the person who started it. If you share a plan with all teachers, every teacher at your service will be able to access it no matter where the plan was started.
If you start a plan from a room and you wish to share it only with the teachers in that room, you'll need to select those teachers individually. Room teachers should appear at the top of the list under a room plan's Share settings. Learn more about who can access plans.
Sharing with parents from a room plan is the same as sharing with parents from a service-wide plan – you simply add the children you wish to the plan and share with those children's parents.
Who receives notifications about room plans?
When a room plan is shared with all teachers, all teachers in the centre will receive notifications. When a room plan is shared with only the teachers in that room, then only those teachers will receive notifications (though they can turn this off in their notification settings if they wish).
Categories are shared across the whole service (no matter what room you're in)
Each room can see a list of categories but this list is shared by all teachers and rooms in your whole service. If any teacher from any room adds, edits or deletes a category, these changes will be reflected across your service and all its rooms.
If you wish to have room-specific categories, it's best to name them with your room name, eg. 'Programme – Infant's room' and 'Programme – Over 2s room'.
Templates are shared
Each room can see a list of templates but this list is shared by all teachers and rooms in your service. If any teacher from any room adds, edits or deletes a template, these changes will be reflected across your service and all its rooms.
To find your master set of templates, go to the Planning tab on your service's profile page, and tap on 'Templates'.
If you wish to have room-specific templates, these will live in your service's templates area and be available to each room, so it's best to name them with your room name, eg. 'Programme – Infant's room' and 'Programme – Over 2s room'.
If you can't see one of your templates
If children who are not in your room have been added to one of the templates, then that template will not appear in your room's template list. This means that if you wish to have room-specific templates (and you want to add children to the templates) then you need to make sure that you only add children from your room to them.
(If you don't see a template listed in your room area it could also be because someone at your service has deleted it or edited its name.)
Editing a template
If you want to edit or delete a template, you must do it in your service's main planning area, you cannot do it from a room.
Selecting children in a plan
When you select children to include in a room plan the selector will only display the children in that room:
Linking to stories, plans and notes
When you link to a story from a room plan the linker will only display stories that include children from that room. In the top right you can filter the stories displayed by children in that room and learning tags that are attached to these children's stories.
When you link to another plan from a room plan the linker will only display plans created in that room. In the top right you can filter the plans displayed by the categories that are attached to this room's plans.
Linked child notes
When you link to a child note from a room plan the linker will only display notes about children from that room. In the top right you can filter the notes displayed by children in that room and the categories that are attached to these children's notes.